Roses are red….

Countdown to Valentine’s Day!

Roses are red….

Roses are red, Violets are blue… are the opening lines of many a Valentine’s Day poem.  But where did it start?
Apparently the origins of the poem can be traced as far back as to the lines written in 1590 by Sir Edmund Spenser from his epic The Faerie Queene (Book Three, Canto 6, Stanza 6)
It was upon a Sommers shynie day,
When Titan faire his beames did display,
In a fresh fountaine, farre from all mens vew,
She bath’d her brest, the boyling heat t’allay;
She bath’d with roses red, and violets blew,
And all the sweetest flowres, that in the forrest grew.

A nursery rhyme that is certainly closer to the modern Valentine’s Day poem can be found in Gammer Gurton’s Garland, a 1784 collection of English nursery rhymes.
The rose is red, the violet’s blue,
The honey’s sweet, and so are you.
Thou are my love and I am thine;
I drew thee to my Valentine:
The lot was cast and then I drew,
And Fortune said it shou’d be you.

Victor Hugo may not have known the English nursery rhyme when, in 1862, he published the novel Les Misérables. Hugo was a poet as well as a novelist, and within the text of the novel are many songs. One sung by the character, Fantine, contains this refrain, in the 1862 English translation.
(Les Misérables, Fantine, Book Seven, Chapter Six)
We will buy very pretty things
A-walking through the faubourgs.
Violets are blue, roses are red,
Violets are blue, I love my loves.

The last two lines in the original French are:
Les bleuets sont bleus, les roses sont roses,
Les bleuets sont bleus, j’aime mes amours.


Of course as children many of us made up humorous versions of the rhyme.  This tradition probably goes right back to the creation of the rhyme.  However, in the name of romance I have included below a collection of Roses are red, Violets are blue love poems and quotes.
Roses are red violets are blue, Sugar is sweet and so are you!

Roses are red violets are blue, You’ve made all my dreams come true!

Roses are red violets are blue, You know I’ve got my eyes on you!

Roses are red violets are blue I feel so lost without you…

Roses are red violets are blue, These lips can’t wait to be kissing you!

Roses are red violets are blue, I’d do anything to be with you!

Roses are red violets are blue, I love chocolate more than you!

Roses are red violets are blue, I never knew love until I found you!

Roses are red violets are blue, there’s only one way to say this, I love you.

Roses are red violets are blue, I’d rather be spending my time with you!

Roses are red violets are blue, May I have this dance with you?

Roses are red violets are blue, Have I mentioned I’m in love with you?

Roses are red violets are blue, I don’t want no one if I can’t have you!

Roses are red violets are blue, I’m the one who’ll make all your dreams come true!

Roses are red violets are blue, Love never crossed my mind until the day I met you!

Roses are red violets are blue, Love me so much, like I love you!

Roses are red violets are blue, My love keeps me tied to you!

Roses are red violets are blue, I don’t want to spend a day without you!

Roses are red violets are blue, My love will always be so true!

Roses are red violets are blue, My heart is broken without you.

Roses are red violets are blue, Thanks for everything we’ve been through.

Roses are red violets are blue, I love you for everything you do!

Roses are red violets are blue, I don’t really care but I love you!
2 thoughts on “Roses are red….

Leave a Reply

