The Worst Valentine’s Gifts!

The Worst Valentine’s Day Gifts!

Buying gifts for Valentine’s Day isn’t quite as easy as it seems.  The usual gifts to give and receive are chocolates and teddy bears.  So why is it that so many of us get it wrong?
I’ve been scouring the internet looking for some of the worst gifts ever.  I’ve seen many that have made me laugh and others that have made me exclaim ‘Oh no!’  
I personally have received a couple of what I’d call ‘naff’ Valentine’s Day gifts and I’ll add them to the list at the end 😉
  1. Exercise equipment – what are you trying to say, I love you or you’re fat?  True, you might be saying ‘I care about you and your health’ but it really does look like you’re telling your loved one to shed a few pounds.
  2. Cleaning equipment – Nothing says ‘I love you’ like a new vacuum cleaner, does it?  Yeah right!  Men, resist that urge, you might need a new vacuum or dishwasher but the message you’ll be sending here is ‘get back into the kitchen wench!’
  3. Smellies – Old, staid and boring.  Don’t give into the urge to buy the gift set of perfume or shower gels etc.  Use some imagination!
  4. Break up – Are you kidding me? This has to be done on Valentine’s Day?  Can it not wait a day or two?  Be sensitive and kind, you owe them that much, don’t you?
  5. Novelty gifts – silly edible underwear or rude mugs are just plain cheesy.  They might be good for a laugh but who really wants to receive that as a gift from a loved one.
  6. Something you bought for your ex – Oh please!  Am I the only one who can see this is just plain wrong.
  7. Something inappropriate – by this I mean, if your girlfriend is a tomboy she won’t be pleased to receive make up or a dress, will she?  
Now I will tell you a couple of my own ‘naff’ pressies.  The first is ‘A Tolkein Bestiary’ – yes I received that.  Ok, I love Tolkein’s work but to receive that for Valentine’s Day was nothing short of disappointing.
The second was a file organiser – yes I am a little disorganised, but to have that shoved in my face on the supposed most romantic day of the year, isn’t very nice.  It’s just something I needed, not something to show me how much he loves me.
So all in all, the moral of the story is put some thought into your gift.  Let it come from your heart and let your emotions flow and don’t rely on the usual choccies and teddies.  Then I am sure that  your Valentine’s Day will go exactly as you want it to 🙂
Leave a Reply

