Countdown to St. Valentine’s Day! Day One!

Countdown to St. Valentine’s Day!

Day One

Believe it or not St. Valentine’s day is only 14 days away.  The days are getting longer, the sun is beginning to shine more and our thoughts are naturally turning to love.
Whether you are one to wear your heart on your sleeve or not, we all love to receive a Valentine.  Yes, yes, I know that we don’t need a special day to tell someone that we love them, but come on, where’s your romantic spirit?
So, in the name of lurve I have decided to post some of my favourite poems.  Yes, with the theme of love.  Now, they might get you in the mood for St. Valentine’s day, or night 😉  They might just serve as a reminder to get a card, some choccies and a bottle of wine for your beloved.  Or they might inspire you to go that one step further this year and make this a St. Valentine’s day to remember!
I am going to start with my favourite of poets, the great Bard himself William Shakespeare.  I studied his works years ago and I was astonished by them.  That man really did know more than a thing or two about affairs of the heart and more than once his sonnets have left me shaking my head and saying ‘wow’.  I believe that Sonnet 18 (together with my all time favourite which I will post tomorrow) is one of the most beautifully written verses in the English language.  Shakespeare captures the essence of love so perfectly.
I hope they move you as much as they move me some 400+ years after they were penned.  
Thank you William Shakespeare.

Sonnet 18 (circa 1595)

Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day? 
Thou art more lovely and more temperate: 
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May, 
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date: 
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines, 
And often is his gold complexion dimm’d; 
And every fair from fair sometime declines, 
By chance or nature’s changing course untrimm’d; 
But thy eternal summer shall not fade 
Nor lose possession of that fair thou owest; 
Nor shall Death brag thou wander’st in his shade, 
When in eternal lines to time thou growest: 
So long as men can breathe or eyes can see, 
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.






Leave a Reply

