Relative Deceit Paperback Cover and a Tempting Exerpt!

I am so pleased to tell you all that Relative Deceit is now ready to go to print in paperback! 🙂


It has been out for kindle for some time now and I can breathe a sigh of relief that the publisher is ready to print.


Of course these things take time to organise and I am told that it could take up to 10 weeks to get the book into all major high street stockists and on their websites too.


So, to make the wait seem shorter here is a sneaky peek at the cover design! 



I was so happy when we found the man on the cover to depict Gregory Rogers – he has a sinister look about him, don’t you think? 😉


I cannot wait until I have a copy in my hands and I look forward to you all getting it too!

I also promised you an excerpt….  well, here it is!  Enjoy! xxx


He found Sir George in the study drinking whiskey, “It’s a little early for that, isn’t it cousin?”
“I couldn’t care less,” George shot back at him.
“So I see,” he sighed, “Mind if I join you?”
“Help yourself.”
Gregory poured himself a single shot of whiskey, topped the glass up with water, and came to sit opposite his cousin, studying his face while sipping at his drink, “Want to talk about it?”
“Not really.  What use would that be?”
Gregory shrugged his shoulders, “It might make you feel better.  A problem shared and all that.”
Sir George spat out an expletive at that, “Won’t make my troubles go away though.”
“You could at least tell me, I might be able to help.”
Sir George looked up at his cousin.  Everything had been wonderful before he had come along.  Was it just bitterness?  Or was Gregory truly involved in all his bad fortune?  Would Gregory really help, or was he the cause of it all, as he suspected?  He shook his head to clear it; this was nonsensical thinking.  Finger pointing never solved anything.  “I feel as if I am losing everything.”
“I am truly sorry about Mary-Ann, but you still have all your children, Sir George.”
“No, you don’t understand.”
“Try me.”
Sir George downed the remainder of his whiskey in one gulp and went to refill it.  He returned to his chair and sat staring down into the glass, “Firstly I lost all our money.  Then, we moved up north, and Mary-Ann fell ill and …” the words caught in his throat.  He sipped from his glass, and swallowed to clear the lump in his throat, “And all the business at the publishers.”  He shook his head, “I swear, none of that is my doing.  I had nothing to do with the missing money.”
“I never said you did.  I don’t believe the allegations either.  The investigations will show the truth.  It’s just a misunderstanding, and it’ll all blow over soon enough.”
“Will it?” He looked up and stared with watery eyes at his cousin, as though imploring him to make it all go away.
“I am sure of it.  Why would there be any evidence pointing to you?  I mean, real evidence,” Gregory stared back.
Why did that not make Sir George feel any better?  Why did that fill him with dread?  He stood up and walked to the window, with a sinking feeling that his fate was sealed.  He leant his forehead against the cool pane of glass, wishing for an escape route.
He span around, “What if I were to go to America with Peter?”
“And do what exactly?” Came the reply.  “If the authorities want you, they can ask the Americans to ship you back home again.  No, it’s better to weather the storm.  It will pass soon enough.  I will have the best solicitors untangle this nonsense, if and when necessary.”  Gregory stood, “Now cousin, I have business to attend to,” he placed his still half-full glass on the desk and left the room.
Sir George stared at the closed door after Gregory had departed, tears welling in his eyes, “But you won’t deem it necessary, will you cousin?”

Leave a Reply

