Interview with Karen Aminadra

So we ‘The Powers-that-be’ decided that we’d like to interview Karen Aminadra and ask her how it’s going in Author-land.
We know that the life of an independent author is never easy.  We wanted to know how she was fairing.
Karen, thank you for agreeing to do this interview.

No problems, I’m glad to.


It’s been a month now since Charlotte was published, has it been exciting?

Yes, it’s been very exciting.  A roller coaster for my emotions and also a very sharp learning curve.  

What do you mean by that?


Well, no matter how much advice you get and no matter how much research you do, you still make mistakes and have a lot to learn.  But once learnt I can build on that knowledge for the next book.

Are there any things you regret or wouldn’t do again?

Oh I don’t think there’s anything I regret.  But, there are things I wouldn’t do again.  Or, that I’d do in a different order.  For example, I wish someone had explained to me that the American IRS try to get you to register for tax in the US and as a Brit that isn’t necessary.  I don’t live there and so I don’t work there.  But unless someone tells you that or has experienced that themselves it hits you like a brick wall, and you think now what?!  It caused a headache or two I can tell you.  Finally, I discovered a few British independent publishing companies that will deal with all of that for me which is a relief.

Would you share that information with anyone who wanted it?  

Yes, of course!  Leave a comment below and I will send you links to British and European indie-pub companies.  
I don’t want to endorse one in particular on here until I have more experience with it all.  But so far the paperback publishing with Feed-A-Read, which is Arts Council and Lottery funded, is going well.  That is instead of using Createspace and having to deal with all the tax forms.  Also I will try out another company for the ebook publishing in August when my 90-day exclusivity with KDP is over, and let you all know how that goes too.


That’s great.  I am sure that information will be a lot of help to new and established authors outside of the US alike.
You mentioned the next book, how’s that going?

Very well.  I can see the finish line and I am excited about it.  I need to make some time and get writing!
From the blurb on the website it’s different from Charlotte, why is that?
Yes it is, very different.  I have actually had that on my computer for about 10 years.  Well, it was transferred from computer to computer to computer to be honest!  
I decided that it would be good to get that one finished.  So, although it’s my third to be finished, it’ll be the second published and was the first started.
It’s much darker, there are a few murders in it, as well as romance.  Either historical crime or as the Aussies say Crimance. 


What does that mean?

It’s a cross between crime and romance.  I like that term!  

So, you’ve had to murder a few characters.  How was that?


Oh it was horrible!  The first one had me in tears it was really hard to do.  It took hours to write quite a short scene.  I had to drag up a lot from deep within me.

When will that book be out?

I hope in July.

We look forward to reading it.  What comes after that? Any ideas?

Yes I do have a few ideas.  But I’m not giving away any clues right now!

Oh shame!  You mentioned that your next book will be your third finished.  You’ve written another that we don’t know about?

Yes!  About two years ago I wrote a children’s book.  The only reason that hasn’t been published is because of funding.  It needs to be illustrated and we know that isn’t cheap.  But I do hope in time that will be published too.


How lovely!  It’ll be great to read that too!

Thank you so much Karen for speaking with us today!

Any time!  I look forward to speaking with you all again soon.


So there you have it folks!  Lots going on in the world and mind of Karen Aminadra.  Lots to look forward to too.
I know we ‘Powers-that-be’ are certainly looking forward to more great reads from Karen!  So keep your eyes peeled for news and updates!
If you have any questions you’d like to ask Karen Aminadra then please let us know in the from below and we’ll be sure to include your questions in the next interview!

Leave a Reply

